The New Beast!

Recently I have been looking around trying to find good touchscreen smart phones. Now to tell you the truth this has been a hard search for something that fits my needs. I’m no just talking about the OS here I’m talking hardware man! That’s right! The glorious pieces of goodah that make up the phone. I have found it!

For the most part this is coming from personal experience. I have owned several phones in my day and found some good ones and crappy ones. Over the years I have started to realize that certain companies have trends in what they do for phones. Like lets take LG for instance, they are a very interesting company who has its ideas every once in a while. But for the most part I have never been satisfied with their phones at all because they make cheap phones. Now one of my favorite phones has been the iPhone. I know, I know.

“iPhones are horrible! They are completely locked down and only available to AT&T!”

And then after that people say:

“Blah blah blah blah blah blah”

I don’t care! The iPhone has one of the most accurate touchscreens ever and who cares if I had to hack it? Plus the simplicity of the OS is very refreshing. I loved my iPhone. While I had an iPhone everyone else still had a shitty ass piece of junk prepaid looking cell phone. While they sat there texting. I was twittering, checking facebook, instant chatting, looking up things on the web, and writing emails. But the bill could not be paid for the service after a while which meant iPhone had to be sold. Anyways…

Now there have been several other interesting phones especially recently. Motorola is one of those companies that made a good phone still being used today. Motorola’s track record has been nice. Every Motorola phone I have owned has been reliable and did very well against my day to day poundings.

I know your wondering,

“Why is he blabbing on about this?”

Well I’m building up to what I wanted to talk about ok? so just calm down and be patient. So through the last few years I have owned some good phones. But I am always on the look out for a better phone. And despite my seemingly endless love for the iPhone I have found the one to replace that wonderful machine. Now you wonder why I have been talking about companies and how some make good phones and others make bad right? Well this new godly phone is made by and interesting company. Nokia.

Nokia has an interesting track record when it comes to phones. Their history of successful devices has fluctuated. Nokia has a tendency to make 20 crappy phones in a row and then come out with a really nice one! but then they fall back into the hole again. One of the nicest phones that I really liked was the Nokia N9000. It was a nice touch screen phone with one of the best slide out keyboards I have ever used. But I did not get it for one reason. Its a touch screen/keyboard combo.

It’s one of my biggest pet-peeves. If im going to get a touch-screen phone it is not going to have a physical keyboard which is why I have been so picky about the touch screen phones. I have to be able to type fast on the virtual keyboard and it has to be large. The accuracy of  touch screens has irritated me to no end for the most part. This is one reason why I liked the iPhone. The touch screen was super crisp.

So recently Nokia made a ph0ne that is wonderful! This is the new phone that I adore. It’s called the Nokia N8. And this is what it looks like:

This thing is Godly! So now to elaborate on why this phone is my new baby.

It has as you can see a pleasing form factor. Smooth and slick.

Here are the actual physical properties:

  • 12MP camera w/flash
  • 720p HD camcorder
  • 3.5″ touch screen
  • HDMI out which means I can put stuff up on the big screen in HD quality
  • FM radio
  • FM transmitter
  • 5 colors to choose from
  • 1/2 inch thick

These are the things that really attract me! It also has a new hardware element which makes it more universal than any phone. It has a 5-band 3G. This allows it yo be used by multiple carriers because each carrier uses different network frequencies for their connections. It uses GMS technology which means it uses SIM cards. AT&T and T-Mobile are the proposed outlets. The N8 is also running the new Symbian^3 OS. This operating system was just released to open source. Symbian^3 or just Symbian 3 has been improved upon greatly!

The new OS has lots to offer. It now has integrated social media like Twitter and Facebook, Free GPS navigation, Music player, and stream free Web TV. This means you have a choice of popular channels to choose from like NBC news and also you can tune in to local channels. Three main home-screens which are completely customizable. The OVI store offeres apps and is growing larger.

Now that Symbian has been redone and opened up it should improve upon greatly. It also has video and photo editing abilities for quick optimization.  If however I do not like the OS I will simply dual boot it with a customized version of Android OS.

Overall this thing has HUGE potential! You can currently pre-order it in some places. It is also available for direct purchase. These direct purchases would be for imported units. prices ranging from $600 – $950. I’ll just wait till it comes out though.

Thats all thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

